News from The Post-Standard

Subscribe to News from The Post-Standard feed
Real-Time News for Syracuse and Central New York Movable Type Enterprise 4.29-advance
Updated: 52 min 57 sec ago

Rainbows: the pot of gold in Upstate NY's unrelenting rain (photos)

1 hour 23 min ago
Sun and "popcorn storms" have combined to create rainbows Glenn Coin | gcoin@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/gcoin/index.html

Over 100 firefighters watch Syracuse fire chief reject censure: 'It doesn't impact me'

1 hour 37 min ago
A state firefighters' union censured the chief for "conduct detrimental to the department and to public safety." Samantha House | shouse@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/samhouse/index.html

Central NY registered sex offender imprisoned for 17 years for child pornography

2 hours 32 min ago
Brent Dale, 40, of Earlville, pleaded guilty to federal child porn charges. John O'Brien | jobrien@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/jobrien/index.html

U.S. Postal Service now lets you see your mail before it's delivered

2 hours 38 min ago
U.S. Postal Service offering free service that emails you scanned photos of your letter-sized mail each day. Elizabeth Doran | edoran@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/edoran/index.html

How Bhutanese refugees built their new homes in Syracuse by sharing burdens

2 hours 51 min ago
Bhutanese refugees have found measured success in Syracuse, with dozens buying homes worth around $100,000. Part of the key to that is a community that shares burdens and wealth. Marnie Eisenstadt | meisenstadt@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/meisenst/index.html

Uber won't work at Syracuse airport unless agreement is reached in next 12 hours

2 hours 58 min ago
Negotiations are happening as we speak. Patrick Lohmann | plohmann@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/plohmann/index.html

Man killed on Father's Day was shot at 7 times at close range, records show

3 hours 17 min ago
Khalil Howard, 21, died from his injuries shortly after police arrived. Kira Maddox | kmaddox@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/kiramaddox/index.html

Upstate NY town to Congress: Don't let Lake Ontario swallow us

3 hours 55 min ago
Sandy Creek supervisor on record-high lake levels: "Our worst fear is that people will leave and never come back." Mark Weiner | mweiner@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/mweiner/index.html

Judge in school funding lawsuit finds Syracuse kids don't get 'sound basic education'

4 hours 1 min ago
The decision is part of a decade-long, wonkish debate over government spending on education in New York, that now thrusts Syracuse into the spotlight. Julie McMahon | jmcmahon@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/jmcmahon-syr/index.html

Ten Commandments monument at Arkansas Capital destroyed, suspect arrested

4 hours 1 min ago
The man responsible for toppling the monument less than a day after installation has been arrested. Amari Pollard | apollard@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/amaripollard/index.html

Syracuse man to get 40 years to life for murdering brothers over a little marijuana

4 hours 21 min ago
Toriano Newson, 19, pleaded guilty to two counts of first-degree murder. Douglass Dowty | ddowty@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/ddowty/index.html

Enjoy the rare dry day in Central NY - rain, storms return later this week

4 hours 55 min ago
Syracuse has had rain for 10 days in a row Glenn Coin | gcoin@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/gcoin/index.html

Motorsport, outdoor 'country club' planned for site south of Syracuse

5 hours 29 min ago
Mile-long road course to open this fall. Rick Moriarty | rmoriarty@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/rmoriart/index.html

One person killed after car strikes tree in Oswego County

6 hours 7 min ago
The accident happened around 3:30 a.m. Samantha House | shouse@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/samhouse/index.html

Uber, Centro begin talks on providing rides for under-served Syracuse poor

6 hours 50 min ago
Seventy-five percent of Centro riders make less than $30,000 a year, and more than half ride it every day. Patrick Lohmann | plohmann@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/plohmann/index.html

Journey of Syracuse's Bhutanese refugees: Pushed from their homeland to live in tiny huts

7 hours 48 min ago
Some 2,500 Bhutanese refugees ended up in Syracuse after being forced from their country to live in huts without running water in refugee camps in Nepal for nearly 20 years. Marnie Eisenstadt | meisenstadt@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/meisenst/index.html

From mud huts to $100,000 homes, Bhutanese refugees put down deep roots in Syracuse

7 hours 50 min ago
Less than a decade after coming to Syracuse with nothing, dozens of Bhutanese refugees have found work, saved tens of thousands of dollars and purchased homes in the city. Marnie Eisenstadt | meisenstadt@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/meisenst/index.html

Serious crash closes Oswego County road

8 hours 6 min ago
Serious injuries were reported after a car crashed into a tree, dispatchers said. Samantha House | shouse@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/samhouse/index.html

Uber, Lyft to launch in Upstate NY at 12:01 a.m.

8 hours 20 min ago
Neither app has said what the fares will be yet. Patrick Lohmann | plohmann@syracuse.com http://connect.syracuse.com/user/plohmann/index.html

Sarah Palin sues New York Times for defamation over editorial

Tue, 06/27/2017 - 10:56pm
The editorial linked one of her political action committee ads to the mass shooting that severely wounded then-Arizona Congressman Gabby Giffords. The Associated Press http://connect.syracuse.com/user/syrapnews/index.html

Pages